Yogic Self-awareness Assessment

“Following is a Self-Awareness Assessment outline. The Self-Assessment is truly intended to be an assessment by yourself of yourself.
We explore all of the following so that we can gradually, systematically come to see how they interact and create the appearance of our being separate, individuated beings. To do anything, any project, requires first seeing the current situation as it is. That is the spirit of the assessment below; it is a process of periodically reviewing where we are on this journey of uncovering false identities, being ever mindful of the goal-less goal of awakening to that preexisting unity or wholeness.”

~ Swami Jnaneshvara
This web-page works together with the What is…? section on this website. Here all the words are presented in the same order as in the Yogic Self-awareness Assessment PDF.
Download the Yogic Self-awareness Assessment PDF here.


Five States of Mind: Kshipta, Mudha, Vikshipta, Ekagra, Nirodhah
Five Efforts: Shraddha, Virya, Smriti, Samadhi, Prajna
Four Attitudes: Friendliness, Compassion, Supportiveness, Acceptance
Four Functions of Mind: Manas, Chitta, Ahamkara, Buddhi
Four Primitive Fountains: Food, Sleep, Sex, Self-preservation
Jnanendriyas: Smelling, Tasting, Seeing, Touching, Hearing
Karmendriyas: Eliminating, Procreating, Moving, Grasping, Speaking
Five vayus: Prana, Apana, Samana, Udana, and Vyana vayus
Five Bhutas/Elements: Earth, Water, Fire, Air, Space
Three Gunas: Sattvas, Rajas, Tamas
Circle Chart: Actions, Senses, Body, Breath, Conscious. Mind, Active Unconscious Mind, Latent Unconscious Mind, Center of Consciousness
Five kinds of thoughts: Pramana (correct). Viparyaya (incorrect), Vikalpa (fantasy), Nidra (sleep), Smriti (memory)
Five kleshas: Avidya, Asmita, Raga, Dvesha, Abhinivesha
Four stages of kleshas: Udaram (active), Vicchinna (separated), Tanu (attenuated), Parsupta (dormant)
Four kinds of avidya: Temporary/Eternal, Impure/Pure, Pain/Pleasure, Not-self/Self
Eight rungs of yoga: Yamas, Niyamas, Asana, Pranayama, Pratyahara, Dharana, Dhyana, Samadhi
Five yamas: Ahimsa, Satya, Asteya, Brahmacharya, Aparigraha
Five niyamas: Saucha, Santosha, Tapas, Svadhyaya, Ishvara pranidhana
Chakras: Muladhara, Svadhistana, Manipura, Anahata, Visshudha, Ajna, Sahasrara
Source of Karma: Actions/Speech/Thoughts, Ahamkara/Ego, Fulfilled/Unfulfilled, Kama, Samskaras, Primitive Urges, Avidya, Center of Consciousness
Doshas of Ayurveda: Vata, Pitta, Kapha

| top |

Yoga Meditation, Contemplation, and Devotion for Self-realization

This site is an offering to those who deeply long to experience Pure Consciousness that is known as Divine Mother or Tripura (‘Tri’ means three, and ‘pura’ means city); She is the one that lives in the three cities of Waking, Dreaming and Deep Sleep. Temporary leaving behind the three cities and residing only in Pure Consciousness is called Self-realization. Another name for this realization is Yoga; the union of the individual self with the universal Self; the union of Atman with Brahman, or Shiva with Shakti; or the dis-union of Purusha and Prakriti. Some might think of Tripura as an anthropomorphic being but She is not, She is the Non-dual Reality in which all appearing manifestation seems to exist. All that is, is the Non-dual Reality.
On this site the teachings of Yoga, Vedanta, and Samaya Sri Vidya Tantra are offered to guide you in learning to meditate directly on Tripura by using modern ways of communication such as through animations, while preserving the ancient wisdom. These teaching have been given to us by an ancient lineage of meditation masters, lovingly called the Tradition of the Himalayan masters. These practices lead us to a space of stillness and silence where Yoga meditation, contemplation, mantra and prayer converge into deep devotion and constant awareness of Tripura. At the end of the journey when all efforts are exhausted, grace will dawn. This is known as shaktipata, through which the final barrier is removed, which is the piercing of the bindu, and leads to the direct experience of Non-dual Reality. This finally reveals an unimaginable Joy from knowing the Non-dual Reality or Pure Consciousness!


| top |